Daily Prompt: Yin to My Yang

I don’t know if I believe that there is one person out there for everyone. That we’re destined to be with just one person. That our life is about finding that person and being completely happy with them, being… complete. But then, that’s my interpretation of what “Soul Mates” are.

I do, however find hope and beauty in how Plato described soul mates.

He said that according to Greek Mythology, humans were born with four arms, four legs, and one head with two faces. Zeus was threatened by our power and split us all in half condemning us to spend the rest of our lives looking to complete ourselves.

That’s simply beautiful to me.

To this idea, that there is this one perfect person out there for us, that we were literally pulled apart at birth.

It’s nice, but it’s not logical.

And that’s where the story fails me.

Logic.

Okay, so lets say there is just one person for everyone. That’s it, one person.

What if you never get to meet?

What if something tragic happens?

What if, by chance you meet and one is a serial killer?

Logically, it doesn’t work. But like the bible, it’s a nice story. And it’s something nice to believe in. To give you hope, to maybe give something that pushes you to get out there and find someone to be with.

“do you believe in the existence of such a person — for you?”

I would love to. I really would, but my logical mind won’t let me. But hey, maybe one day I’ll run into the person of my dreams by chance, and maybe we’ll get along, and maybe they’ll be perfect for me, and maybe I’ll be perfect for them. That’s soul mates. Being perfect for eachother.

But maybe I won’t, maybe I’ll simply swim by life just grouping with a different person every now and then.

I guess it’s simply a game of waiting…

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Yin to My Yang.”

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Yin to My Yang

Leave a Reply

